## United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

February 9, 2023

The Honorable Alejandro Mayorkas Secretary U.S. Department of Homeland Security 2707 Martin Luther King Jr Ave SE Washington, DC 20032 The Honorable Deanne Criswell Administrator Federal Emergency Management Agency 500 C St SW Washington, DC 20024

The Honorable Jen Easterly Director Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency 245 Murray Lane Washington, DC 20528

Dear Secretary Mayorkas, Administrator Criswell, and Director Easterly:

We write to request that the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) prioritize funding for election security and support for election officials through existing grant programs. As we work to keep our elections secure and strengthen our democracy's resilience, these resources will help state and local governments ensure that our elections proceed smoothly in the face of evolving challenges including the rise in threats to election workers and the need to maintain our country's election infrastructure, which is a matter of national security.

In particular we urge DHS to issue guidance that makes clear that election security is a national priority for the Homeland Security Grant Program (HSGP) and the State and Local Cybersecurity Grant Program. Specifically, we urge you to designate election security as its own unique national priority and not combine it with other priority areas.

Importantly there is recent precedent for this type of guidance. In Fiscal Year 2020, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) cited election security in two of its four national priorities for HSGP – "enhancing cybersecurity" and "enhancing the protection of soft targets/crowded places."<sup>1</sup> That year FEMA also required HSGP grant recipients to spend a fixed percentage of their funds on each priority. We were pleased to see that FEMA included "enhancing election security" in its 2022 national priorities, and we urge you to do this again in 2023.<sup>2</sup>

Just as FEMA has done with the HSGP grants, we request that the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency issue guidance to guarantee that a portion of funds from the State and Local Cybersecurity Grant Program is spent on election security. This four-year program was created in the 2021 *Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act* to ensure that state and local

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Fiscal Year 2020 Homeland Security Grant Program Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) Key Changes. FEMA, <u>https://www.fema.gov/sites/default/files/2020-07/fy\_2020\_hsgp\_key\_changes.pdf</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Fiscal Year 2022 Homeland Security Grant Program Key Changes. FEMA, https://www.fema.gov/fact-sheet/fiscal-year-2022-homeland-security-grant-program-key-changes

governments have resources to improve and maintain their cybersecurity, and it has the potential to play a critical role as states are preparing for the 2024 election cycle.

Election officials work year-round to prepare to administer our free and fair elections, and they bring important expertise to their jobs. We encourage you to include guidance that grant recipients should consult with election officials, which will help ensure that those on the frontlines of our democracy are informed about how these funds can be used and have the opportunity to advocate for their election-related needs.

DHS has done critical work to keep our elections safe and secure, including in the 2022 elections, but funding for election security must remain a priority. By requiring funds to be spent on election security and for election officials to have meaningful input, you will ensure that critical funds will be used to strengthen security in our democracy.

Thank you for your attention to this important matter.

Sincerely,

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Angus S. King, Jr. () United States Senator

- late

Gary C. Peters United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

telel

Peter Welch United States Senator

ligaluth

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Tim Kaine United States Senator

inc

Tina Smith United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

hin loom

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

R., UNWS

Raphael Warnock United States Senator

R Werner

Mark R. Warner United States Senator

Edward J. Mar

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

Ron Wyden United States Senator

Shurred Brown

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Alex Padilla United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

en Kai

Ben Ray Lujan United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

unand Samlers

Bernard Sanders United States Senator