Federal Disaster Recovery Assistance for Georgians Impacted by Hurricane Idalia

U.S. Senator Reverend Warnock remains committed to ensuring Georgians impacted by Hurricane Idalia receive the federal resources they need to recover. Following Senator Warnock’s recent visit to survey storm damage in Valdosta, President Biden approved a federal disaster declaration for Georgia to aid people and communities who suffered property damage or are otherwise in need of recovery support. The federal disaster declaration covers individuals in the following Georgia counties: Berrien, Brooks, Cook, Glynn, and Lowndes.

Below find additional recovery information, resources, and contacts to assist Georgians seeking federal disaster assistance.

FEMA Support

Individual and household assistance is available for residents in Berrien, Brooks, Cook, Glynn, and Lowndes counties. Individuals and households in these select counties, including students, may apply for federal disaster assistance to access legal services, housing assistance, unemployment assistance and more. The deadline to apply for assistance is November 6, 2023.

  • Visit DisasterAssistance.gov or call 800-621-3362 to apply for FEMA individual assistance, or if you have questions about eligibility.

Public assistance is available for the following counties: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Brooks, Bulloch, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Echols, Emanuel, Glynn, Jeff Davis, Jenkins, Lanier, Lowndes, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Thomas, Tift, Toombs, Treutlen, Ware, Wayne. Municipal leaders in these locations may request public assistance to help with broad community recovery efforts, including debris removal and rebuilding public facilities.

  • Visit DisasterAssistance.gov or call 800-621-3362 to if you have questions about FEMA public assistance or eligibility.

FEMA is also offering in-person assistance at the Lowndes County FEMA Disaster Recovery Center, located at 2108 E Hill Ave., Valdosta, GA 31601. Their hours are 8am-7pm, Sunday through Saturday.

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Support

Any business or organization located in Brantley, Brooks, Camden, Colquitt, Echols, Lanier, McIntosh, Tift, and Wayne counties that incurred physical damage during the disaster may apply for a loan to help replace or restore damaged property. Physical Loan Application Deadline: November 6, 2023.

If you are in Berrien, Brooks, Cook, Glynn, or Lowndes counties and have suffered economic injury regardless of physical damage, you may qualify for an Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL). EIDL Application Deadline: June 7, 2024.

United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Support 

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) is extending assistance to farmers and livestock producers. Producers impacted by Hurricane Idalia are encouraged to contact their local USDA Service Center to report losses and learn about available disaster programs.

IRS Support

For Georgians in FEMA-declared areas, the IRS has extended the deadline for the filing of various federal individual and business tax returns and making tax payments to February 15, 2024 for deadlines originally before this date. Individuals and households that reside or have a business in these areas qualify for tax relief.

  • For more information about IRS resources, call 866-562-5227.

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Support

CMS waivers are available to providers in the State of Georgia who have been affected by Hurricane Idalia. Health care providers can submit a request to CMS here: https://cmsqualitysupport.servicenowservices.com/cms_1135

CMS will also make available special enrollment periods for eligible individuals to enroll in coverage through the Federal Health Insurance Exchange.

Current as of October 10, 2023