Senator Reverend Warnock, Colleagues Introduce Resolution of Solidarity with Striking United Auto Workers

Resolution calls on the Big Three Automakers to negotiate in good faith and offer their workers a fair contract

Senator Reverend Warnock: “Unions are democracy in action in the workplace—it is critical every worker’s voice is heard”

Washington, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Reverend Raphael Warnock (D-GA), along with 33 of his Senate colleagues, announced a resolution today in solidarity with the 150,000 members of United Auto Workers (UAW) bargaining for a fair contract, with 34,000 currently on strike in Georgia and across the nation. One of the largest U.S. strikes in the past three decades, autoworkers voted to go on strike in September–calling for a fair share of the record-breaking profits their labor produces as well as cost-of-living adjustments, an end to two-tier wage system, and restoration of pension benefits. Since then, the strike has expanded to 44 locations across 22 states, including Georgia

“Auto workers in Georgia and across the country currently on strike deserve the ability to engage in fair and good-faith negotiations that ensure the rights and well-being of workers,” said Senator Reverend Warnock. “Unions are democracy in action in the workplace—it is critical every worker’s voice is heard.”

Senator Warnock was joined on the resolution by Senators Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), John Fetterman (D-PA), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Jack Reed (D-RI), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Tina Smith (D-MN), Ed Markey (D-MA), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Gary Peters (D-MI), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Peter Welch (D-VT), Bernie Sanders (D-VT), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Bob Casey (D-PA), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Laphonza Butler (D-CA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Josh Hawley (R-MO), and Michael Bennet (D-CO).

Read the full resolution here.